Letters in the Mail

I received a special treat in the mail this week.

In 1907 my great grandfather, John Marshall Fisher, came to Canada with his cousin James Fisher.

This week I opened a letter from Clive Fisher. His father, Eric, was the younger brother of James Fisher, who left England and crossed the ocean with my Great Grandfather. Clive, who lives in Yorkshire England, was able to drive around and do some investigative research on our shared family. And thankfully he has shared his findings with me.

I now know that my great3 grandfather, John Fisher, worked as a corn miller in Sand Hole, Yorkshire, England. In 1861 they lived at 115 Town Street, Holme upon Spalding Moor, Yorkshire and then shortly afterwards they moved to Sand Hole to be closer to the mill (which has since been demolished).

John was married to a woman named Hannah. It is uncertain what her maiden name was, but we can suspect that it may have been Marshall because John and Hannah name their first son John Marshall and from this point on Marshall becomes the predominant male middle name in our family. My great great grandfather was John Marshall Fisher; my great grandfather was John Marshall Fisher; my grandfather was Bruce Marshall Fisher; my father is John Marshall Fisher; and I also have a cousin named Marshall in honour of that family name.

I will focus my research, this year, on studying the Marshall’s in the Yorkshire area and looking specifically for a Hannah that may be my great great great grandmother.

My other focus this year (and the blog theme for 2010) will be my Loyalist Ancestors. I have just applied to be a member of the United Empire Loyalist Association of Canada.  In honour of that, I would like to share with you my love and appreciation for the loyal ancestors who came to Canada, worked the land, and cherished the country. I think we all need to know their sacrifices and hardships, and cherish and appreciate this country more.

Over the next 12 months we will be looking at the following United Empire Loyalists.  If you have relatives on this list, let me know, I’d love to hear from you!

James Beyea
Andrew Sherwood (daughter Martha Curry Sherwood married above James Beyea. Martha’s mother died in NY).
Isaiah & Joanna (Davis) Smith
Richard & Jemima (Budd) Bull
Garret & Eunice (Hatfield) Dykeman
Barnet & Mary Ann (Lester) Manzer
James Hatfield (and daughter Phoebe Hatfield)
John Wesley Gavel
Jeremiah Sabean

I’m hoping that the next  letter I receive is from the UELAC… although the best mail treats come from relatives sharing their family history.

Published in: on 31 January 2010 at 5:09 pm  Comments (5)  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: http://thegenealogist.wordpress.com/2010/01/31/letters-in-the-mail/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

5 CommentsLeave a comment

  1. Hi Sarah

    So we have another family in common. I am also descended from the Garret and Eunice Dykeman as well as the Curries. Looking forward to whatever you can unearth; you always seem to come up with more than anyone else. Congratulations on the UEL designation!

    Beverley

  2. Hello. I may be able to provide some information on James Beyea/Martha Curry Sherwood.. as I am a relative of Peter Beyea, the brother of James. I have a Beyea Genealogy book (which my mom co-authored). It has information about James, his brothers, and the family lines of each. We also still have some copies of the Beyea Genealogy for sale. But feel free to email me with questions and I will try to look up the info for you.
    Thanks!
    Bill Beyea

  3. Do you happen to know the middle name of James Fisher. My grandfather James Asqueth Fisher came over from England around teh same time with other family members. Family understood it to be a cousin. Thanks Tim

  4. I am a ninth generation Manzer (from the original James Manzer). I have loads of Manzer history. I lived in Weymouth, NS and and now Burton, NB. Both are the home of manzy Manzers. I also have access to local cemetaries, I will share my research. lmanzer at gmail dot com is my address.

  5. Hi: I am a descendant of Garret Dykeman and Eunice Hatfield, they are my 4x great grandparents. Their son Gilbert married Dorcas Manzer; their son Barnet married Sophia Beyea, their son Abraham Wood Dykeman married Maria Euphenia Perley, their daughter Sophia Martha Dykeman married Alexander Young, Sophia and Alexander were my grandparents. My father, Fred Young was their son. I was born in Youngs Cove, N.B.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

